WE GO TO BATTLE TO PROTECT YOUR FREEDOM
Henderson DWI Attorney
DWI (driving while impaired) is one of the most serious charges you can face. DWI offenses carry major penalties, including potential jail time and permanent license revocation. District Attorneys in North Carolina prosecute these cases aggressively. If you’re facing prosecution for driving while impaired, you need an equally aggressive Henderson DWI attorney. You need the Scharff Law Firm to meticulously investigate your case and develop strong legal and factual arguments against the prosecution’s case.
North Carolina Drinking and Driving Laws
Every state has different DWI/DUI (driving under the influence) laws. North Carolina has a strict zero-tolerance policy that can lead to minors getting a DWI even without being over the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit of 0.08%. In North Carolina, a person under the age of 21 can get in trouble with any amount of alcohol in his or her system. Driving After Consuming Under 21, also called a provisional DWI or “baby DWI,” can have significant criminal consequences.
If you’re under 21, it’s illegal for you to drive a motor vehicle in a public area while consuming alcohol, having any alcohol in your system, or having any controlled substance in your system. If your BAC level is above 0.08% at the time of the traffic stop, or the officer finds signs of impairment, the officer can also book you for juvenile crime like DWI.
Law enforcement in North Carolina takes drinking or consuming drugs and driving very seriously. In an effort to reduce the number of impaired drivers on Henderson’s roadways, officers are swift to charge Driving After Consuming Under 21 cases. If you’re facing these criminal charges, you need to arm yourself with a competent, experienced Henderson DWI attorney. Otherwise, you may face consequences to the fullest extent of the law.
Penalties for DWI/Driving After Consuming Under 21 in North Carolina
In North Carolina, Driving After Consuming Under 21 is a Class 2 misdemeanor with punishments similar to a typical DWI: a possible sentence of 24 hours to 60 days, a revoked license for one year, court costs, and fines. You may be able to apply for limited driving privileges if you have no prior convictions. Your car insurance costs can also rise significantly with this crime on your record.
If the officer also charges you with DWI, you could face license suspension, hefty fines, and between 24 hours to three years in jail. The more severe the circumstances of your DWI are, the harsher the penalties. If you caused an accident, injuries, or death while driving impaired, you can face serious criminal penalties that will follow you for the rest of your life. Criminal convictions in North Carolina can make it difficult to find and keep employment, especially if the court suspends your driver’s license. Any person facing DWI or Driving After Consuming Under 21 charges in NC should retain a high-quality Henderson criminal defense attorney for the journey ahead.
How a Henderson DWI Lawyer Can Help
At Scharff Law Firm, we’ve helped thousands of clients in North Carolina avoid or reduce criminal charges against them. We take a combined 30 years of experience to protect individuals from life-changing criminal consequences of their actions. We can help an underage driver understand his or her rights during and after a DWI traffic stop and advise how to plead in each case. There are circumstances where we may be able to get BAC test results thrown out, such as improper test or arrest procedures. We may also be able to reduce the penalties you face upon a Driving After Consuming Under 21/DWI conviction.
If you need legal representation from a team of aggressive Henderson DWI attorneys for a drinking while impaired or related charge, don’t hesitate to contact Scharff Law Firm. We offer free case consultations to help you understand your options moving forward.